Pacific Yew and Taxol etc.

Discussion in 'Outdoor Gardening in the Pacific Northwest' started by Aussiebob, Oct 4, 2006.

1. Aussiebob

Aussiebob Active Member

Here's one for someone who is a few more rungs up the IQ ladder than I am....I thought this would be a good place to throw something like this out. I'm not a doctor and I don't understand the technicalities of chemistry or disease much at all. I'm also not a historian - so I wouldn't even know where to start looking for the history of cancer etc. Although I have looked around the web a little over the last few months.

TAXOL - the anti cancer compound has been found in a number of trees (Pacific Yew, Wollomi Pine etc). We all know than Cancer is a brutal blight on society/mankind that continues to scar individuals and families with no disctinction of wealth, colour, creed etc.

Pacific Yew's are native to the Pacific Nth West......They are a big tree and one must think that when the original first nations (Native Indians) peoples as well as the early european settlers lived in this area - they literally lived amongst these great trees. The tree and consequently TAXOL was probably part of their daily life - whether they ingested parts of the plants, breathed it's vapours, made tools etc from it's wood/leaves, drank water from streams that were in proximity to the tree etc etc etc. Although probably not a designed part of their daily lives, it stands to reason that TAXOL was in their daily environment.

My thought being.....were the people who lived years ago amongst these trees (or possibly live and work among these trees nowadays) resistant to cancer?

Just a thought and some links.

http://www.na.fs.fed.us/spfo/pubs/silvics_manual/volume_1/taxus/brevifolia.htm

http://www.pfc.cfs.nrcan.gc.ca/ecology/yew/taxol_e.html

Cheers

2. Daniel Mosquin

Daniel Mosquin Paragon of Plants UBC Botanical Garden Forums Administrator Forums Moderator 10 Years