One month after the first indoor seeding...

Discussion in 'Fruit and Vegetable Gardening' started by fluoritux, Mar 6, 2007.

1. fluoritux

fluoritux Member

Hi,

I'm new to gardening, and I'm new to this forum. I'm writing because I have a question about overcrowding potted herbs, and how I should deal with it. However, being new here, I feel that I should introduce myself and my setup beforehand.

I've always liked plants and gardens, but I've never given any serious effort to growing them. All my adult life, I've lived in apartments with no outside space to grow them. I've attempted a few hardy indoor potted plants, but their incredibly slow growth and complete lack of purpose has never kept my interest.

Also, I live in a pretty cold place. According to the "Plant Hardiness Zones of Canada 2000", I live on the boundary of zones 3 and 4, with 3a, 3b, 4a and 4b all being found within a few kilometers of where I am. I understand that the last frost may be as late as May 31st, and that the usual planting date is around June 1st.

I don't have any south-facing windows, nor any windows that receive any significant amount of sunlight. This is why I decided to grow under lights - fluorescent lights. I'm hoping to keep a number of plants under lights year-round, but during the summer I have access to an outdoor garden. Last frost is still three months away, though.

I decided to grow various herbs. The first six herbs I got were Coriander, Oregano, Thyme, Basil, Parsley and Chives. I started the first batch about a month ago.

When the first batch of seedlings overgrew their tiny starter pots, I transplanted them into various containers. Some went in 4" green plastic pots, and the others went into a bigger 30"Lx10"Wx7"D rectangular plastic container.