Oh No! Over-watered/damp/soggy soil (indoor houseplant).

Discussion in 'Indoor and Greenhouse Plants' started by ohitsbrandon, Apr 18, 2008.

1. ohitsbrandon

ohitsbrandon Member

I researched a tiny bit, but stopped and figured I'd come here for a quick answer.

I'm relatively new to gardening (indoor, that is all I do): one year of experience. I over-watered two of my plants. The soil is now soggy and damp in both. I haven't had to water them since early March. They were re-potted in February, so I'm curious if there is a way to un-dampen or dry out the soil so I can resume normal, proper watering without re-potting.

I'll restate the question without the unnecessary details: How do I dry-out/fix over-watered and damp soil in indoor houseplants?

Thanks for any help.

2. joclyn

joclyn Rising Contributor

what are the plants? what type of container are they potted in - plastic, unglazed clay, glazed/painted ceramic? how big are the containers? do they have drain holes? what type of soil did you use?

depending on what type of plants they are and what kind of container and soil, you may be able to leave them be until the soil dries out on it's own. some plants can't deal with overly moist soil for extended period of time and would need to be dealt with to get the too-moist soil situation remedied.

please answer the above questions so we can help :)

3. ohitsbrandon

ohitsbrandon Member

The first is a China Doll, the second is a Goldfish Plant. They are in some standard plastic containers which are about medium sized (six to ten inches across). There are 6 drain holes in the Goldfish Plant container and 3 in the China Doll container. I am using all purpose potting soil (indoor, outdoor).

I hope that helps.

4. joclyn