Newbie-Transplant/shock/sun/water, etc.

Discussion in 'Rosa (roses)' started by kcrawford, May 25, 2009.

1. kcrawford

kcrawford Member

I'm fairly new to gardening and live in a hot, dry climate...zone 9.

I'm already off to a rough start. I didn't quite do enough research before planning and building my first raised flower bed. I haven't tested my soil so I'm not sure about its properties but it's dry, rocky, and seems to turn into a concrete like substance after it gets wet then dries. I dug down about 10" then filled it in with a 70/30 steer manure/rocky soil mixture. Within days my plants dried up and the leaves were crispy. After talking to a few people I realized I basically burned the roots with too much manure.

I removed the plants and dug up the entire flower bed, removing every bit of steer manure and rocky soil. I replaced the soil with a 50/50 mixture of top soil and potting soil from the local nursery called "Pay Dirt". The bed is raised about 10" so it's a total of about 20" deep until it hits that hard as rock natural stuff that resides below. I replanted and whatever was still a little green has turned dry and crispy with some having no leaves at all. Red cedar mulch covers the bed with a drip irrigation system providing water. The emitters are rated at 2gph, 20 of them in all come on at 6am for 60 minutes.

The flower bed is built in a 1/4 moon shape in the corner of a brick wall in my back yard. The sun first hits around 8am and gets full sun until around 5pm. I am sure they are in shock and nervous I have killed them with all that has happened. The first 2 weeks they were only being watered for 10 minutes, 3 times a day. I didn't know...just set it to a preset schedule until I realized they weren't getting enough water.

Too much sun? Not enough water, too much water???

I have thought about moving them to the other end of my small backyard to where it doesn't get quite as much sun but still at least 6 hours I believe.