Nanking bush pie cherry

Discussion in 'Fruit and Nut Trees' started by clark, Jan 10, 2009.

1. clark

clark Member

Is the Nanking bush pie cherry a member of the order Prunus? In other words is it a real cherry? Thanks ,this is my first time to post.

2. Ron B

Ron B Paragon of Plants 10 Years

Botanical name is Prunus tomentosa. Prunus is the genus, not the order.

3. clark

clark Member

Ron B,

Thanks for the info and the correction of my order error.

4. Ron B

I think in the right climate you can get a fair number of fruits from these but I don't think the size and succulence of an orchard pie cherry tree like 'Montmorency' is to be expected.

5. Millet

Millet Well-Known Member 10 Years

On our farm we had a 180-ft. wind break row of Nanking cherries. Being a wind break row, we did not give the plants everyday care. However, they were 5-7 foot bushes, and very full. We never got enough cherries out of the entire row to make a pie. - Millet

6. abgardeneer

abgardeneer Active Member

Millet, were the birds getting to the fruit crop first, perhaps? Nanking cherries are certainly not the size of the sour cherries that we can grow here, but the fruit is sweet and tasty, and makes good jam. I've never had them made into pie but it should be good - pitting would be a fussy job due to the small size, though.

7. Pipestone

Pipestone Active Member