My Meyer Lemon and Kumquat are major leaf dropping

Discussion in 'Citrus' started by micowave, Jan 30, 2019.

1. micowave

micowave Member

Hello everyone, I'm not too experienced with citrus and got into them last year.

I have a Meyer Lemon, Kumquat and a Australian Finger Lime and a yuzu ( I left the yuzu outside and it is doing fine). I live in Vancouver.

They rest are grown inside for now and I have a grow light.

A few weeks ago I found the leaves starting to drop and realized mealy bugs infested my Meyer Lemon and Kumquat and not the Finger Lime. I'm not sure if it is only the mealy bugs or something else wrong. So I got some neem oil and put some dish soap and made a solution as suggested on the bottle and I sprayed the plant outside.

After bringing spraying it outside and bringing back inside it appears its dropping leaves at a even faster rate. I'm not sure what happened.

Attached is a picture of my Meyer Lemon with no leaves and the branches are turning brown and my Kumquat still have leaves but it is slowly dropping as well.

Does anyone have suggestions on saving the Meyer Lemon, it was doing so well in the summer outside, and was doing well inside until last week, all the leaves dropped.

Attached Files:

2. Will B

Will B Active Member

First suggestion - pick all the fruit off. That is way too much fruit for such a small tree. Keep in mind the fruit take resources from the tree that it now needs to try and make a comeback after the shocks given to it by the changing conditions (outside to inside), the bugs. and the oil and soap. Citrus tend to drop leaves when they sense an imbalance. Each of those shocks creates an imbalance, so am not surprised the leaf drop rate increased.