My Dwarf Lemon Tree needs help!

Discussion in 'Citrus' started by OhioMindy, Jan 15, 2019.

1. OhioMindy

OhioMindy New Member

Hello everyone, this is my first time here, and I could really use some advice!

See attached pictures and at least read the last 2 paragraphs for shortest version!

We have a dwarf variegated pink lemon tree, that was given to my husband about 12 years ago by a close family member who passed away about 6 years ago, so this tree is very special to us.

Being in Ohio, every year we put it outside during the summer, and then acclimate it to be back inside over the winter, and we have never had any problems with this tree, until now.

In the late spring last year we did re pot it because it needed a larger pot, but that has been the only change over the years: every winter it goes in the same room, on the same table next to the same window.
    All the sudden about 2 weeks ago the leaves started shriveling up, turning brown and dying. It looks as if the tree is just dying! We can't see any evidence of any pests or mold type issues, although we haven't completely ruled that out.

Its also in a room with a fish tank which seems to provide good humidity, again, the same exact environment it has always wintered in for the past dozen years.

The branches are dying, its just dying and I don't know what to do! My instinct is to prune back the dead stuff, but I always worry about wrongly pruning it.

The absolute only change to its indoor environment is the addition of an African Violet to the plant table, and my orchid just finally re-bloomed, which makes me worry about some type of infestation.