Making my lemon tree thicker

Discussion in 'Citrus' started by TipseyTara, Sep 22, 2008.

1. TipseyTara

TipseyTara Member

I planted a lemon tree from seed back in May of this year. At this point it is doing rather well. It's a little over a foot tall with lots of leaves.
    My only problem with the tree is that it's not growing any branches. It's just growing straight up. Will it ever start branching out? I read somewhere online today that if i "pinch" the new growth (which is only at the top of the tree) it will make the tree thicker, as in branch out. It had said to do it after the node.
    The trouble is, i'm new to gardening and wasn't sure what a node was. I now know but am too afraid to cut/pinch/prune my young lemon tree for fear i will kill it.
    So, long story short...

Will my lemon tree eventually start branching out on it's own as it gets older or am I suppose to Pinch the new growth at the top off?

ANY advice would be great!

Thanks,
    Tara

P.S. Just thought I'd give a quick "thumbs up" to this website. It was this site which got me hooked on playing in the dirt as i call it. And has been my bible ever since!
    Everything I eat with a seed now i come to this site to find out how i could grow it.
    So thanks to the people who work so hard to make this site what it is!

2. Millet

Millet Well-Known Member 10 Years