Makin' a list and checking it twice...

Discussion in 'Maples' started by paxi, Dec 20, 2007.

1. paxi

paxi Active Member

Ok folks,

What's on your wish list for 2008?

Here's mine - keep in mind, I'm a total beginner, so much subject to change depending on what actually comes back this spring!

Seiryu - Saw one of these upright laceleafs at the Missouri Botanical garden, amazing!

Ukigomo - Looking for that punch of white in the garden.

Mikawa yatsubusa - seems like a given :)

Sango Kaku/Winter Flame - haven't decided here, but given that I might keep it closer to the house to actually see the bark, so leaning towards the smaller winter flame

Shin Deshojo - beauty spot picked out. Not sure about St. Louis tolerability

Koto No Ito - how hard is this one to grow? Looks a bit challenging

Would any of these be particularly shade tolerant? I have a very shady spot between the house and a relatively dense spot of woods with a picture window that I would love to "decorate"

2. katsura

katsura Active Member 10 Years

i've found koto no ito very easy to grow and propagate from seed.
    i recommend Winter Flame over Sango cuz my Winter Flame is
    brighter red and stays more red than my Sango's

3. Gomero

Gomero Well-Known Member Maple Society 10 Years

I assume that shady means dappled shade and not total shade.
    In that case all your choices will do well but with the following caveats:

- Fall colors will not likely be outstanding but, in my view, this is a problem only with Seiryu.
    - Bark coloring for Sango kaku (or Winter Flame) will likely be dull.

Gomero

4. whis4ey

whis4ey Well-Known Member 10 Years

This is my Osakasuki in almost total shade this past autumn

Attached Files:

5. paxi

paxi Active Member

I was also worried that I would get little variegation with the ukigomo and it would quickly revert to green. thoughts? Do you think there would be any difference between the campestre carnival in this regard?