"Little princess" cultivar questions

Discussion in 'Maples' started by Hwarang, Jan 5, 2012.

1. Hwarang

Hwarang Member

Hi everybody! I'm a newbie at this "mapple world", and despite I've look for as much information as I could, I still have tons of questions.

I've bought a little Acer palmatum "Little princess" (I'll post a picture as soon as I can) a few weeks ago and I'm a bit disoriented with it's growing pattern and prunning advices.
    I've read it's a very branched dwarf variety, and their branches use to cross and overlap. So I was thinking about pruning it, but I don't know if I should wait untill it's bigger (It's still ~20cm high).
    I've also had a look at the "Structural Training of Young Shade Trees" http://http://www.ext.colostate.edu/mg/gardennotes/614.html#basics
    and I don't know if it's applicable to Little princess mapples, because of it's intense branching.
    For example, in my case it's 2nd "branch division" (~5 cm from the soil) is a codominant branch... so that I couldn't preserve just one single dominant trunk until 2/3 of mature tree's heigh. I still don't know how high can it grow (depending on the sources their maximum heigh vary from 80 cm to 2.5 m... that's crazy).
    Do you know a trustable source of information about this variety?

Excuse my newbie questions and language mistakes (I'm not used to write in English)

Thanks in advance

Last edited by a moderator: Jan 5, 2012
  2. Gomero

Gomero Well-Known Member Maple Society 10 Years

Hola Hwarang y bienvenido al foro ;-)), Galicia es une región fantástica para los arces japoneses.