Kumquat dropping leaves and fruit

Discussion in 'Citrus' started by S2019M06, Jul 4, 2019.

1. S2019M06

S2019M06 New Member

Hello everybody,

I really hope someone here can help me. I'm pretty new to gardening and purchased a small kumquat tree last December that I keep in a pot on my balcony. So far it's been doing really well, and even grew quite a lot over the past month, as you will be able to see in the pictures.

IMG_20190704_081858.jpg
    IMG_20190704_081840.jpg

IMG_20190704_081823.jpg
    Because of this growth, I decided to move it to a bigger pot about two weeks ago, and ever since then it's been shedding leaves like crazy. It's also been dropping fruit.

The leaves are completely brown and folded in the middle.

I did not see any insects in the pot.

The weather where I live is good year round, so it also has not been subjected to any harsh changes in temperature. It's getting plenty of sun.

I check the soil every day with my finger and water moderately if needed. I have been doing this since I bought it, and the plant has been doing well so far.

I only fertilized it twice so far (please don't crucify me), the first time being two weeks ago, and the second time a month ago.

I checked the roots when I repotted it, and everything looked healthy.

I'm really at a loss here and would appreciate some advice. I really really want to save this plant! Thank you so much

2. Will B

Will B Active Member

Some things to check:
    1. Make sure the new pot has good drainage. Citrus need good drainage or they can get root rot.
    2. Look really closely at the leaves and see if there are spider mites. I can't quite tell from the photo, but it looks like there might be heavy stippling, a sign of spider mite infestation. Spider mites are extremely small and hard to see, but they can do a lot of damage to citrus if allowed to get out of control.