Is my kanzan cherry tree healthy?

Discussion in 'Ornamental Cherries' started by robv187, Aug 27, 2009.

1. robv187

robv187 Member

Hi everyone, I'm new here. A bit of information about me, I'm from Hamilton Ontario and I'm really new to gardening, so i appologize in advance for any dumb questions I might have. About 3 days ago, i bought a kwanzan cherry tree from a local nursery here, had it delivered and then with my father we planted it in my backyard. Not really sure how old it is, but it's already approximately 11 feet in height. When we planted it, we dug a hole about 1.5 x the root ball (because we added sand in it to break up the clay soil) and dug the hole twice the diameter. We bought root booster, and the instructions said to mix 100 ml of it with 5 L of water. We poured half in the hole, put the tree in and put in the top soil we bought from the nursery, then added the rest. Afterwards my dad sprayed the area gently with about 1 minute or so with the hose. The day after it rained a bit and today the soil felt a bit dry so i gave the tree a light soaking again. Yesterday we bought some red woodchips as mulch. I guess my question is, from the pictures I took (tried to get every possible angle), do you think my tree looks healthy? I'm really worried I might have done something wrong, also, how often should I be watering it? I'm really sorry for asking all these questions but i really appreciate any help. Thanks :)

Attached Files:

2. wcutler

wcutler Paragon of Plants Forums Moderator VCBF Cherry Scout 10 Years

Re: Is my kwanzan cherry tree healthy?