Iris's no buds

Discussion in 'Annuals, Biennials, Perennials, Ferns and Bulbs' started by Karenfae, Apr 21, 2007.

1. Karenfae

Karenfae Member

I am new to this list so let me know if I post anything wrong -- in the wrong place ect. Problem: I have a lot of iris's, I have had them for many years. I am not an active gardener but love flowers that need little attention. In recent years I am getting a lot of green plants but little or no flowers -- any ideas on how to remedy this situation. The plant-bulbs, or whatever they are called :) told you I'm not an expert! are old, I have had them for a long time. I divided the bulbs last year and still no flowers. I am in zone 7 in Arkansas.
    Thanks for any help
    Karen
    http://karensquilting.com/

2. KarinL

KarinL Well-Known Member 10 Years

Has a tree grown nearby creating more shade than the area used to have? I've had irises fail to flower without adequate sun. Alternatively, they might need a year after dividing to get back to bloom size.

3. Karenfae

Karenfae Member

I tree did grow really big in one area that the iris's are in but not in other parts of the yard where they are and I am having trouble in all areas. Some of the iris's must be over 12 years old I wasn't sure if after awhile they fail to get flowers because of age. One raised flower bed that I put the newly divided iris's in last fall have not flowered this spring, maybe they will next year then.

4. mistyj

mistyj Member

I think usually they don't flower the year after you divide. They should next year though. They also will not flower if they are to close together.

5. Karenfae

Karenfae Member

thanks for your help. I have more in another section of the yard that I know haven't been divided in some time, I will take care of that this fall and spread them out over the yard some more. I take it full sun is best?

6. carol mitchell

carol mitchell Member