Introduction & Tree Shoot Problem

Discussion in 'Woody Plants' started by LittleOne, Apr 24, 2007.

1. LittleOne

LittleOne Member

Greetings! This is my first time posting on these forums.

I just purchased my first home. It has a neglected backyard (to my delight... my dog and I can play all summer long making it beautiful!). The unfortunate part is that there was a large old tree that the old owner recently had cut down. I don't know what kind it is, but it has spent several years shooting trees out of its roots, spreading most of the yard. These shoots are green right now and approx. 1" thick, and are quite densely packed in some areas. How can I go about taking care of this (permanently) myself? I have so many ideas for the backyard (probably too many, considering it is fairly small).

Cheers!
    Lindsay

2. Michael F

Michael F Paragon of Plants Forums Moderator 10 Years

Welcome to the forum!

Can you post a photo? That will help a lot to identify it.

3. KarinL

KarinL Well-Known Member 10 Years

Whatever it is, you have two options: a shovel or a chemical. An identification would certainly help to see whether either one has any hope. Although it sounds to me as if you might want to be thinking stump grinding and backhoe. A photo would indeed be good, or if you can't do that, a description of its leaves, flowers if any, and habit would get the ID process started. You can also flip through some tree/shrub books to see if you recognize the offender.

Also, are you sure the shoots come from the tree? There might be a different suckering shrub in the yard unconnected to the large tree.

4. LittleOne

LittleOne Member