Identification: Interesting Fungi

Discussion in 'Fungi, Lichens and Slime Molds' started by tks1185, May 26, 2006.

1. tks1185

tks1185 Member

Im just a curious student from Washington and I was wondering what this fungi was. [​IMG]. Quick research leads me to be a birds nest type, but I hadnt seen any green ones.

2. MycoRob

MycoRob Active Member

Could this be a liverwort? The lower part of the picture looks more like a chlorophyll-producing plant body than a fungus.

Rob

3. Daniel Mosquin

Daniel Mosquin Paragon of Plants UBC Botanical Garden Forums Administrator Forums Moderator 10 Years

Not a fungus or liverwort.

It's a lichen, and I'm fairly convinced it is Rhizoplaca melanophthalma or green rock-posy (you haven't mentioned the substrate you found it in, which is very helpful in identifying fungi, mosses, lichens, liverworts...).

There are a number of images for comparison on this Norwegian site: photo gallery of lichens

The body of the lichen is described in Lichens of North America as being yellowish-green to dark yellow, often greenish-black at the margins.

The fact that it is wet generally stimulates whatever algae are in the fungus, so the colour tends to shift to being greener.

The thalli (or cups) are described in colour from the Lichens of North America as varying in colour from pale yellow-brown through greenish to black, so a lot of variation there as well.

An interesting tidbit about this lichen is that it is so morphologically variable it can appear as either a crust lichen or a spherical mass that will roll over soil.

4. tks1185

tks1185 Member

This lichen started growing on our wood deck rather quickly. I dont remember what type of wood the deck is. Since I've been out to the deck quite frequently, I'm pretty sure this grew within 40-60 hours. It is in the middle of the deck and is quite exposed. It also has been raining the past couple of days.