Insect eating pigmentation off plants leaving white patches behind what do I do?

Discussion in 'Indoor and Greenhouse Plants' started by Sylwia Kosecka, Apr 30, 2021.

1. Sylwia Kosecka

Sylwia Kosecka New Member

I'm no plant expert but I've been trying to grow some bonsai and 12 of my baby plants have these white patches on their leaves with black dots. I don't know what to do I tried cleaning it with lightly diluted soapy water following advice from someone but its to no use because it keeps coming up.

There's no local gardening expert so I genuinely don't know what to do. I've kept these plants indoors and tried to not overwater them. Please help

Attached Files:

2. Ron B

Ron B Paragon of Plants 10 Years

Closer views needed

3. Sylwia Kosecka

Hope this is better :)

Attached Files:

4. Junglekeeper

Junglekeeper Esteemed Contributor 10 Years

I wonder if this might be the work of an insect that's hiding in the coir during the day and feeding at night. Perhaps the black dots are its excretions. Are the spots always black or are there ones that are clear? I'm thinking the substance may be the plant's sap.
    In the same places or elsewhere?

5. Sylwia Kosecka

Oh the black dots appear only on the white parts. I only monitor the plants every morning and every morning more appear.

I did see a small brown bug crawling on the plant and I picked it off but it was so tiny like a spec of dust. I'm not sure if that's to any use

6. Junglekeeper

So on the affected leaves you wipe away the black dots and the (black) dots reappear the next morning on the same leaves, in the exact same locations as before?

7. Sylwia Kosecka

Oh no no aha sorry I wipe away the black dots but the black dots reappear the next morning on a completely different new white patch

8. Junglekeeper