Hylocereus from "Moon Cactus" ???

Discussion in 'Cacti and Succulents' started by The New Guy, Apr 7, 2009.

1. The New Guy

The New Guy Active Member

I have been reading that "Moon Cacti" actually consist of a Gymnocalycium grafted onto a Hylocereus. Since "Moon Cacti" are easily found, could one be used as a "shortcut" to obtaining a Hylocereus? If the Gymnocalycium is cut off, the already-rooted Hylocereus would start growing for itself, right? What species of Hylocereus is typically used for "Moon Cacti" ?

2. Ron B

Ron B Paragon of Plants 10 Years

I'd just locate a mailorder supplier of the desired species and order from them instead.

3. The New Guy

I have been having the hardest time trying to find Hylocereus suppliers. I have found a few sources for seeds, but only one company in the U.S. for a rooted plant. I have never tried to grow a cactus from seeds before (I have some prickly pear seeds now that I'm going to plant for the first time), so I don't trust myself with buying the seeds quite yet. As for the rooted plant, I much prefer it, but they were charging something like $30 for a young plant, approx. 1 ft tall. That's a little pricy for me, especially if I end up killing it. That's why I came up with the idea of "practicing" with a cheaply bought "Moon cactus" before shelling out the "big bucks" for a young Hylocereus. Just an idea. So, it really doesn't matter what the exact species is, I was just asking out of curiosity. (Although, I would prefer if it at least bloomed, eventually.)

4. lorax

lorax Rising Contributor 10 Years

For a live-growth Hyocereus, you can try asking Richard at http://www.plantsthatproduce.com/ about suppliers. If I recall correctly, he's growing them. If not, he'll know who is and will be able to point you in the right direction.

5. mandarin

mandarin Active Member 10 Years

Yes, you can use the grafting stock like that.

6. Laticauda

Laticauda Active Member