Hydrangea anomala ssp. petiolaris compete with tree roots, ok?

Discussion in 'Vines and Climbers' started by kerria, Apr 21, 2009.

1. kerria

kerria Member

Hi Everyone,

There are three climbing hydrangea vine plants that i've been growing in pots outside for about three years and i'd like to transplant them. I've read about their ability to climb trees- do you think it would be ok to plant one at the bottom of a full-grown 20' tall Japanese maple tree? Would it fair ok with competing with the roots of the maple?
    Also- right now there is so much Hedera helix all over my yard- these vines are covering the tree partially now, i can try to cut them but they're relentless. Does anyone have any experience with having climbing hydrangea and english ivy and using trees for support?

If this combination would be ok, what would be the best way to prepare the soil when i plant the H. vine?

Thank you so much,

kerria

2. kerria

kerria Member

Hi All,

Just now i've decided to go ahead and plant the climbing hydrangea vine under the Japanese maple. If i wait i'll probably waste another three years growing it in a pot and who knows if i'll lose them anyways.
    I spent some time clearing at the base of the tree and there are other plants that survived well even in the tangled mess of hedera helix below- plants like dandelion and grass and a stray rosa multiflora seedling. After clearing a 2'x2' space i filled with some leaf compost with a lot of worms, we just had a few days of good rain, so i'm putting one of the vines in. The hyrangea vine plants are all really well branched now, about five 3-4' long branches. i had to break a root that grew into the ground under the container.
    It will be a good experiment. I'll let you know how it goes, and if all fails and it doesn't make it - i still have the other two. One i may use in the place it's at - as a ground cover because they're already doing well there.