Identification: Himalayan fungi - Boletus erythropus

Discussion in 'Fungi, Lichens and Slime Molds' started by alok, Mar 3, 2010.

1. alok

alok Member

Dear friends,
    I think this one is Boletus erythropus but since I am still a novice I would like you to see if there are things that I've missed out.
    Thank you
    Alok

Attached Files:

2. Frog

Frog Generous Contributor Forums Moderator 10 Years

Paging a Boletologist!

I am pleased to own the comprehensive tome Boletes of North America, but even if this was a N.A. mushroom, I am only an egg when it comes to the Bolete tribe, and I'm not sure I could distinguish well enough amongst the red-pored species.

Do you have a field guide for your region?

cheers,
    frog

3. alok

alok Member

I have not found much information for our area (which is Himachal Pradesh in India)!! Which is the reason why I am starting to do this exercise.. even though I am not truly qualified in this field.. but thanks to internet I use resources online and link with people like you to get further knowledge... The links I used to check were

http://www.mushroomexpert.com/boletus_subvelutipes.html
    http://www.aphotofungi.com/page12.html

Thanks for your guidance Frog!!
    Sincerely
    Alok

4. Frog

Have you used a field key before? If you haven't, please note that Keys tend to be regional, but you could try taking your specimen through a NA key and if you come up with some likely species, take a look at a write up that indicates its worldwide distribution. Your specimen looks mature, so it might help to also know what a younger specimen looks like, if there are any colour changes with age.

This looks like it could be the book you want, though I've not found a description of its contents yet:
    Mushrooms of India Boletaceae, Vol. I, Studies in Cryptogamic Botany 1996 by T. N. Lakhanpal