HIMALAYAN BLUE pOPPIES

Discussion in 'HortForum' started by evelyn, Aug 18, 2004.

1. evelyn

evelyn Member

This is my first time visiting this site...I recently purchased from a green house in Edmonton , 2 Himalayan Blue Poppies.
    I owned one last year and it died without ceremony....I only noticed that it was missing long after the fact. NOw that I have 2 more....I am trying to take extra special care....I live in Ottawa...where I have read that they are a challenge to grow...I understand that they appreciate acidic soil....with cedar mulch do? I would love to hear from anyone who has experience growing these successfully ....especially in Eastern Ontario.....
    best regards,
    Evelyn

2. Blue Poppy Blues?

Cool humid environment for poppyworts, with moist, rich soil and protection from hot winds, slugs and mites. They don't like to be pelted with droplets from high branches, either. They are cloudland meadow plants, watered and shaded by monsoons in summer, insulated by deep snows in winter. If your one plant grew through summer and then collapsed, perhaps you need to do something extra to be sure to get all of them through winter.

If you get a first-year seedling to throw up a flower spike, cut it off or remove the spent flowers early enough to prevent seed capsules from developing very far. Otherwise, it may expend itself in this initial effort and not form overwintering leaf rosettes (crowns).

3. Katie

Katie Member

I bought my first blue poppy in May, 2004 as a blooming plant. I planted it on the east side of the house in a sheltered location. A nursery employee told me the blue poppies don't like the crown to get wet over the winter and suggested that when the cold & wet weather came to put slug bait around it and cover it with a large clay pot. She said it should be a clay pot so it wouldn't fly away in the wind. I did as she suggested and was rewarded this year with TWO stalks and several beautiful blooms.

4. Ron B