Help with dwarf black pines

Discussion in 'Gymnosperms (incl. Conifers)' started by Buzzbee, Mar 3, 2007.

1. Buzzbee

Buzzbee Active Member

Am not sure what is happening to these two dwarf black pines.
    Their needles are turning brown in patches and appear to be dead few are dropping and are actually difficult to remove. There is no sign of insects, have looked for webs, mites etc. Any suggestions? They are planted in pots and have been so for 3 years. Have been fine up til about 3 weeks ago.
    Thanks

Attached Files:

2. Ron B

Ron B Paragon of Plants 10 Years

Bugs and/or a fungus. Get a hand lens and look more closely, cleaning out the dead junk as you go. If browning has been there for months perpetrator(s) may not be active at this time.

3. kia796

kia796 Active Member

While I'm no expert, I bet they'd do better if planted in the ground, versus in pots for 3years, as you said.
    Lovely trees, I hope they make it.

4. Michael F

Michael F Paragon of Plants Forums Moderator 10 Years

Ditto to kia that they'd do better if planted in the ground. If they have to be kept in pots, get some with twice the diameter and depth.

5. conifers

conifers Active Member

Along with all that's been said, strip the stems of all old needles and keep them away from the top of the root system. Loosen up the root system also if necessary before potting it up, or before planting. The application of a 3 month slow-release fertilizer such as Osmocote or equivalent could do wonders for it this time around, as well.

Dax

6. globalist1789

globalist1789 Active Member

3 years in a container is not a problem for a black pine so long as it is in a proper mix. There are many BP bonsai that are many hundereds of years old that have been in containers for a lot longer than 3 years.

That being said, being in container for 3 years in improper soil could lead to root damage and browning like that. What type of soil is it in?

7. conifers

conifers Active Member