help with compost, heating up fast!

Discussion in 'HortForum' started by cagreene, Jun 5, 2013.

1. cagreene

cagreene Active Member

should i be worried about my compost catching fire? at what temp does fire become an issue? and at what temperature should i flip the compost? as i am using a temp gauge, the temp is about 140-170 degrees, i can see smoke rising from the pile as i turn it at 5 am this morning. i added some fruit and coffee grounds to slow it down a bit.
    i have been following the 10 day method, how to make usable compost in 10 days, gives a chart of nitrogen to carbohydrates, as well as what to mix with specific types of branches to get them to break down.
    if it dries out too much will it catch fire? should i be adding water to the mass? i have added a tarp to hold in the moisture and heat somewhat, should i remove it? i wish there was a compost for dummies book, as this is my first time doing my own compost, usually i hire someone to do it for me, but this year i have moved and am now in a smaller more manageable yard.( i am just piling it, not in one of those store bought containers)
    any help would be appreciated thanks.

2. ironmiss

ironmiss New Member

You can rest easy. The likelyhood that your compost will go ablaze is, well, unlikely! I have never, in all my years as a gardener, at home and work, working with various kinds of composts, seen that happen.
    Could it be steam coming from your pile? Yes, water is an aid to composting.
    Have you really made working compost in just ten days?! Thats incredible!

3. cagreene

cagreene Active Member