help I do not know what this tree is called

Discussion in 'Indoor and Greenhouse Plants' started by fudge65, Feb 25, 2008.

1. fudge65

fudge65 Member

I have a very interesting indoor tree that came with my house. It has lanky branches with clusters of shiny green dark leaves with pale yellow dots on the leaves at the end of each branch
    Since we have gone into winter months, it has dropped a lot of leaves. More watering seemed to help but now some leaves are drying on the leaf tip and curling with a brown colour. I have also noticed some small holes starting in some leaves.
    I can see no bugs or anything. I am just a newbie on this list so I don't think I can send a picture
    fudge65

2. Ron B

Ron B Paragon of Plants 10 Years

Croton?

3. fudge65

fudge65 Member

Hi Rob,
    I looked up Croton and it certainly looks very much like my plant.Is it my imagination or do the leaves have some red colour in them as well. My plant does not have any reddish colour at all.Now the leaves have started to turn brown and curl on the tips and I have noticed holes in some leaves. I cannnot see anything on the leaves.
    Is the Croton an outdoor tree because mine is and always has been indoors
    Thanks
    Nancy

4. Bluewing

Bluewing Well-Known Member

Many people have "croton's" in their "indoor" collection that can be put out during spring and summer and is considered a houseplant. In warmer climate's, it's grown outdoors.

5. lorax

lorax Rising Contributor 10 Years

As an outdoor Croton grower, I can tell you that there is immense variation in both leaf shap and colour. So, if the ones you saw had red and yours don't it's no indication that you're doing something wrong. I have friends in Canada who are strictly indoor Croton growers.