Hedge Help?

Discussion in 'Garden Design and Plant Suggestions' started by zenshack, Jan 30, 2010.

1. zenshack

zenshack Active Member

I want to plant an evergreen privacy hedge on the inside of a 50ft stretch of 6ft high fence. We live in a corner lot and the house sits higher than the fence so we want the hedge to grow at least 8ft or higher to keep prying eyes out.

I had been seriously considering a Laurel hedge but after reading a few threads we definately do NOT want English Laurel. Are there other types of Laurel that are not as invasive? We like the look of the smaller leaf laurels we have seen, don't know the type (I am a gardening noob). Also we would prefer to keep the hedge to a thickness of 3-4 ft.

We alreay have a row of emerald cedars along a different stretch of fence and don't want any more of those, so what do you suggest. Would be great if it was fast growing too.

The area has good drainage so that is not an issue. The new hedge would start the first few years of it's life in mostly shade, being on the north side of a south facing fence. Once the hedge grows anything that grows taller than the fence will be in full sun.

Thanks

2. Dave-Florida

Dave-Florida Active Member

Good for you to have excluded English laurels. I think camellias thrive in the Vancouver climate--check the UBC gardens. Portlanders were remarkably reluctant to prune/shape them, but if you're willing to put some effort into hand-clipping, there's no reason why they can't make a handsome hedge.

You might check local Japanese gardens about hedge plants. There's an astonishing variety of plants available.

3. zenshack

zenshack Active Member

Thanks for responding Dave-Florida.

Don't compliment me on the "Just-Say-No to Laurel Campaign" yet. I am compiling a short list of possible hedge plants and Portuguese Laurel is still on it, barely.