Heavy Feeders in the garden

Discussion in 'HortForum' started by sointula, Nov 27, 2012.

1. sointula

sointula Active Member

We grow a lot of vegetables in the Brassicales family in our garden (broccoli, cabbage, cauliflower, kale). Probably the majority of our garden is in this family which makes it really hard to do crop rotation and make sure they are only in each bed every 4 years.

My question is, is there anyway to protect and enhance the beds to stop pest infestation so that we can grow the same family of vegetables in the same beds year after year? We are enhancing the beds with manures, seaweed, and wild fish scraps to keep the soil nourished. I am mostly worried about the possible disease and bugs.

Thanks in advance for you advice!

2. vitog

vitog Contributor 10 Years

You can minimize bugs by using floating row covers. I've been using them for a couple of years and have eliminated root maggots, which seem to be the most serious insect pest. I think that the worst disease is clubroot, which seems to need at least 5 years to clear out of the soil. If you can keep clubroot from getting established, your Brassicas will probably be OK. I've found that clubroot is more of a problem for overwintering Brassicas than the ones with a shorter harvest interval. If you stick to the early varieties and pull out the roots immediately after harvest, you can minimize the possibility of establishing clubroot in the beds. The other tactic that helps to keep it in check is to lime these beds heavily.

3. Ron B

Ron B Paragon of Plants 10 Years

Just don't go overboard with the soil additives. It's the same as cooking, if you just keep pouring on ingredients, without regard to what amounts are actually needed eventually the soup is spoiled.

4. Sundrop

Sundrop Well-Known Member

Growing the same family of vegetables in the same beds year after year is not the best idea.