Hardy citrus growing outside in Vancouver

Discussion in 'Citrus' started by SoCal2warm, Apr 3, 2019.

1. SoCal2warm

SoCal2warm Active Member

This is a picture of a 7 year old Yuzu tree in Vancouver BC, about 8 feet tall and bears over 200 "lemons" yearly.

Yuzu-Vancouver.jpg

(I archived this picture along with the accompanying description from Tropic to Tropic Plants)

Yuzu has many excellent culinary uses, though is not the best for out of hand eating.

Rare lemon harvest in Vancouver

Greg Neal, mechanic by profession, fruit-grower by hobby, is getting set to harvest 70 lemons from his yard in Lynn Valley.
    "A few people come by to see it and most people are quite surprised," said Neal.
    He planted a Meyer lemon tree about 10 years ago in his front yard in "a bit of a micro climate" that faces south/southeast and takes advantage of heat that comes off the house, and the tree has grown to three metres by three metres.

"Anyone with a tree in a south-facing or west-facing yard with a wall and an overhang to give it a little extra heat can grow citrus fruit," Duncan said.
    Both he and Neal protect their trees from the winter cold and rain by covering them with a special breathable tarp that lets sun in. They add a little warmth with a string of old-fashioned Christmas lights under the tarp.

Rare lemon harvest in Vancouver

A post I found archived on the old Citrus Growers Forum:

Been ages since I was on this forum last. Just a quick update on a few in-ground citrus I have in zone 8b Vancouver Island.
    Last big freeze was Dec 6 where temps dive bombed to 20°F / -6.7°C. Both Yuzu and Changsha where absolutely fine. 10° Tangerine had it's leaves flag, only to pick up again after that bad night.
    Hope everyones citrus is doing great. Belated Happy New Year.