Growth habit of Bloodgood maple

Discussion in 'Maples' started by whippersnapper, May 30, 2022.

1. whippersnapper

whippersnapper New Member

Hi everyone,

I'm wondering what the natural shape is of a Bloodgood maple? I have some experience with a Senkaki "Coral Bark" maple, which was quite upright, but my understanding is that Bloodgoods tend to grow more laterally? They certainly look beautiful in the photos I've seen.

The one I have just bought from the nursery is taller and skinnier than I would have expected, with some branches turning pretty much vertical. Is this just because it was cramped in the nursery? I'm wondering if these will open up naturally or do I need to look at tying them down, pruning, etc.? Or does the lateral growth only come with age?

Thanks in advance!

Attached Files:

2. Acerholic

Acerholic Paragon of Plants Forums Moderator VCBF Cherry Scout Maple Society

Good morning @whippersnapper and welcome to the maples forum. Re your question about Bloodgood. It is an upright grower. Looking at yours it appears it may have been high grafted, but I can't see the graft to be sure. Often garden centres sell maples like this.
    Yours will bud from lower over the next couple of years if that's what you want rather then a standard.
    I would not do any pruning at the moment. Let it get underway this year in your garden.

3. whippersnapper

Hi Derek and thanks for the advice, I'm happy to let it grow by itself this year. I'm not sure what a high graft is or changes (?) but I think the graft on this one is just a few inches above ground level.
    Assuming I get some good lateral growth from lower down the trunk, do you expect the tree to also keep reaching upwards from the top as it is currently? Or do Bloodgoods not really do that?

4. Acerholic

That's interesting. And yes it will continue to reach upwards. You will get buds on lower healthy branches as well and sometimes from the trunk.