Growing (two) avocados

Discussion in 'Indoor and Greenhouse Plants' started by Laura Blumenthal, Oct 16, 2010.

1. Laura Blumenthal

Laura Blumenthal Well-Known Member 10 Years

Well, I have to admit first off that I'm no expert gardener. But I went online and watched a how-to video about growing an avocado plant from seed. I sprouted the seed in a glass on the kitchen window sill, and got a nice, healthy tap root growing down into the glass, with a few side roots coming off of it, and then I planted this in some top soil I had in a pile outside from another project. I left it outside because the weather was warm, and there it sat for about two months, looking rather like it was a lost cause, but I forgot about it (although I did water it when the weather got dry) because I got busy with work and so forth, and now that we've had some good rains, suddenly two stalks are growing out of it, happily and healthily! Surprise surprise!

Now we come to my question. The Pacific Northwest is not the tropics, so I don't expect this thing to survive the colder weather. I live in East Vancouver. When should I move this plant inside, or shouldn't I?

Any advice would be appreciated. Here's a photo of the current state of the avocado(s).

P1000170.jpg

Thanks!

Laura 3:)

Last edited: Oct 16, 2010
  2. lorax

lorax Rising Contributor 10 Years

Surprise growth is actually fairly typical of avocadoes (I had a pair come up in my front garden that I'd given up for dead about 8 months ago), although production of two shoots from a single pit is a bit rarer. Congratulations!

Move it inside when overnight temperatures start to dip to around 5 C, and keep it in a bright area of the house but away from the windows (because the cold will scorch the leaves.) Check regularly for spider-mites and water when the soil gets dry, and it should do very well for you.

3. Laura Blumenthal