Germination of Seeds

Discussion in 'HortForum' started by Knightwolf, Sep 22, 2005.

1. Knightwolf

Knightwolf Member

Hi,

I'm new to tree growing and purchased some seeds from The Catalpa Tree Seed Company in New Jersey. I planted them on 09/07/05 and as of today 09/22/05 I have nothing sprouting. Does anybody know the germination period for the following seeds? I put them in a well drained plastic cup, vermicukite on the bottom, potting soil (seeds are approx 1/4-1/2" below surface) well moistened and saran wrap covering them. Any idea when I can expect them to germinate? Thanks for your help!!

Eastern Whitebud - Alba Seeds - Cercis canadensis alba
    Banyan Tree (Ficus) Seeds - Ficus benghalensis
    Lemon Tree Seeds - Citrus limon
    Blood Orange Seeds - Citrus sinensis osbeck
    Weeping Willow Seeds - Salix babylonica
    Bing Cherry Seeds - Prunus avium
    Giant Sequoia Seeds - Sequoiadendron giganteum
    Bald Cypress - Taxodium distichum

2. Eric La Fountaine

Eric La Fountaine Contributor Forums Moderator 10 Years

Hello Knightwolf,

That is a big question. Germinating trees and shrubs is not generally as simple as germinating garden veggies or flowers. The Salix would probably germinate quickly, but others could take months (or years). Each plant has to be considered separately for germination time and procedure. Some seeds may need cool or warm treatments (called stratification) or may need to have hard seed coats softened or opened.

Take a look at this webpage from Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada:
    http://www.agr.gc.ca/pfra/shelterbelt/shbpub22.htm

3. Honeysuckle

Honeysuckle Active Member

Re: Growing cherry pits

I had store-bought cherries (Bing or Ranier or some other common, red sweet cherry variety) and was curious what are the chances of being able to grow them from pits? Are store varieties sterile or can this be done with any hope of success - if they get a week to dry & two months in the fridge?

4. Eric La Fountaine