Finding the right flowering vine.

Discussion in 'HortForum' started by Limey, Jul 20, 2004.

1. Limey

Limey Member

I'm still quite new at this so hopefully I won't sound too stupid.

I have a large trellis along the south side of my deck with a flower bed at about waist height. Currently it is unused and I'd like to make use of the trellis but I have a few questions.

~ Is it to late in the season to be planting a flowering vine?
    ~ Given that the soil in this flower bed is only about 6" deep do you think I will run into any problems down the road once the plant matures and the roots take over the bed. ??
    ~ Also, what would you recommend in the way of flowering vine for this location. I live in Abbotsford BC and the side of the deck get's mostly sun and very little shade, however in the winter there will be a lot of rainfall and potentially some frost or snow so the plant must be tollerant of that. I believe I'm classified as an 8a for soil and climate, however the bed currently is filled with a simple potting soil.

Thanks for your advice.

Limey

2. HortLine

HortLine Active Member 10 Years

Vines, vines, vines

It's awfully late to be planting anything right now, it's better to wait until spring before planting your vine. If you decide you'd like an annual vine they need time to grow and flower - sweet peas and beans are a good choice (e.g. scarlet or blue runner) for beautiful summertime flowers. This has the advantage of allowing you to change your mind on the vine grown every year!