Fastest Growing Edible Plants?

Discussion in 'Fruit and Vegetable Gardening' started by jamie, Jun 23, 2009.

1. jamie

jamie Member

Hi there all!

This is a truly excellent forum - I'm so happy I happened upon it!

I have a bit of an odd request/question. I'm a artist, and will soon be doing a kind of 'art piece' with a few collaborators, where we try and sustain ourselves on a fast growing plant via a local 'ecosystem'. The idea is to try and create a localized energy and resource economy, to highlight the other, more global economies of this type.

In any case - we need a very quick growing, edible and possibly nutrient rich plant that grows well in hydroponic systems. I was wondering if someone on this list might have an incling as to which plant or groups of plants would be worth further research. My research thus far seems to suggest that radishes are the fastest growing common garden vegetable, and kudzu seems to be a very fast growing edible green.

I had assumed something in the soy-bean family, or some kind of wheat grass, potentially?

As a somewhat extreme example - is there a plant out there that, under the right circumstances, would grow enough plant material, daily to support a person's daily nutritional needs for a few days?

Any help at all you could lend would be much appreciated - thanks so much for humoring this odd question!

Cheers,
    Jamie

2. lorax

lorax Rising Contributor 10 Years

Radishes or another brassicant would probably be your best bet - the greens are also edible, so you've actually got a food source while you wait for the tubers to get large enough. If you approach the situation as a fast in the correct way, though, you could likely do it with hydroponic butter lettuce.