Compost tea: Recipes and their target use

Discussion in 'HortForum' started by parry willis, May 28, 2022.

1. parry willis

parry willis New Member

Not sure if there is already a thread for this particular aspect of things. Looking to share the little I know and learn a broader understanding of different recipes for making compost tea. As well as their target use (ie; potassium deficiency, magnesium deficiency, etc).

So far, being a total novice at this, I notice that worm castings are what I would call a base ingredient in most compost tea blends. Insect frass is another major one that I see used. wolastinite rock dust. basalt rock dust. Among other amendments.

Understanding each of the amendments on their own is a bit of a challenge. It does seem fairly straight forward though once a little bit of homework has been done. Something I have been having trouble wrapping my head around though, is the use of the ingredients in combination. It seems there are so many combinations and specific targeted use brews that it would be nice to have a dialogue with the community at large. Makes for a broad variety of uses and potential tea blends.

I can put pictures up to better help exemplify what i've been doing in my compost tea brewing infancy and some of the things that I think I may have figured out. I do my best to photo document and keep notes of things as i'm going.

Look forward to the chit chat, Thanks in advance.

2. Margot

Margot Renowned Contributor 10 Years

To me, compost tea is a 'solution' in search of a problem. Gardening is enough work without going to such great lengths to mix concoctions for specific, sometimes imagined, issues. How do you know if there is a potassium deficiency or magnesium deficiency unless you have a detailed lab soil analysis?

My mantra is 'keep it simple'. There are countless beautiful, healthy gardens where compost (and wood chips) is applied as a mulch without being processed first.