climbing roses : what do you recommend?

Discussion in 'Rosa (roses)' started by Overgrown, Feb 13, 2008.

1. Overgrown

Overgrown Member

I am completely new to gardening and to this blog, so please gear your advice towards a novice. I would like to plant 3 climbing roses in a yard that gets partial sun. Berkeley has so many beautiful varieties of roses that I look at and enjoy (especially in May and June) but I don't know which ones would do best for me. I want a pink rose, a white rose, and I'm open to suggestions about the third one.I'd love to hear of suggestions for varieties that have small to medium size blooms, are vigorous growers even without great quantities of sun,and do not require a great deal of expertise to maintain. Please describe your favorite varieties for this area.

2. Ron B

Ron B Paragon of Plants 10 Years

3. 1950Greg

1950Greg Active Member

Langley, B.C. Stones throw from old HBC farm.
    David Austin roses generally are very vigorous and easy to grow,constant bloomers and most are desease resitant. For first time rose gardeners its a good choice to have at least one David Austin rose bush. Old Garden Roses also are proven hardy one thats very vigorus and will toleratat some shade is Cecile Brunner, 20-30 ft.,once blooming,and has a clasic rose fragrance. Most nursuries should have this rose in stock. Here are two links that should prove helpful, good luck there are tens of thousands of roses and hundreds added each year. http://www.davidaustinroses.com

4. Ron B

Ron B Paragon of Plants 10 Years

'Climbing Cecile Brunner' is easy and common (here) but definitely vigorous, one near me is above the height of a telephone pole and looks like it has been cut back below that point perhaps multiple times - indicating it would otherwise now be well above the height of the pole. 'Cecile Brunner' was introduced 1881, making it and its variants technically modern roses.

5. Weekend Gardener

Weekend Gardener Active Member 10 Years