Cedar hedges - need input

Discussion in 'Gymnosperms (incl. Conifers)' started by Sean Ruczko, Aug 24, 2020.

1. Sean Ruczko

Sean Ruczko New Member

Hello, came across this forum and looks like we've got lots of smart folks that know about plant life... I got 32 hedges installed one month ago and since then they've been slowly turning more yellow from the bottom. Its not clear to me what might be happening....

I water them nightly, usually about 6 hours with a soaker hose. The soil was brought in for planning as the earth was too dry with large roots. The soil feels moist however I don't believe it's 'wet' - I'm not an expert.

I had professionals install the cedars (Fraser Valley Cedars) and I believe they did a good job bringing in dirt and planting them just beneath the soil.

Thoughts on what might be happening? The growing on the tips seems to have stopped and its the bottoms that's new. Should I be concerned at this stage?

Attached Files:

2. Ron B

Ron B Paragon of Plants 10 Years

Thuja occidentalis 'Smaragd'. And just about the worst time of year to be doing a project like this - poke around in the original soil balls to see what the moisture situation actually is. Including well back past the outer inch or so.

Georgia Strait likes this.
  3. Sean Ruczko

Sean Ruczko New Member

I did go about 5 inches towards the bottom of one of them. It still felt moist to me. Are you thinking that it might be dry?

4. Margot

Margot Generous Contributor

It looks to me like the trees are struggling to obtain enough water to satisfy. Were they given a thorough watering right after planting? Whether they were dug up just before planting in your garden, or whether they were already in pots, you can be sure that trees the height of yours are missing a lot of root mass. Not only are they dealing with inadequate roots, they were also planted at just about the warmest, dryest time of the year when the leaves are losing more water than they should to evapouration.