can you tell me which hoya plant this is?

Discussion in 'Indoor and Greenhouse Plants' started by cagreene, Feb 23, 2012.

1. cagreene

cagreene Active Member

I had taken a cutting from a nearly dead hoya plant that had been living a slow death in my church. The plant the cutting came from, had sparse leaves, one or two leaves every 4 feet of stem, with what looks like grey paint flecks on its leaves. the cutting that i took, rooted easily, and has been growing fast, but not as a vine. it appears to look more like a bush, with tight leaf joints, one atop of the other with very little or no space between leaf joints. I have been growing it in a 2 gal bucket, for just over 2 1/2 years and it has yet to flower. my other hoya is in my washroom, and loves the steam, hates direct sunlight and flowers often. this new one, doesn't like the steam, and is doing well under a grow lamp. why wont it flower, and what type of hoya is it?

Attached Files:

2. Barbara Lloyd

Barbara Lloyd Well-Known Member

I am far from an expert on Hoya's but in my experience wide spaces between leaves means not enough light. Closely growing leaves mean good light. As to which one? The are many varieties, and it easier to ID them when they bloom. I'm guessing that yours is Hoya Carnosa as it's the one you see most. Check this link and look at some of the varieties. barb

http://www.bing.com/images/search?q=hoya+plant&qpvt=hoya+plant&FORM=IGRE

3. Furballs

Furballs Active Member