Brand New Calamondin Needs Expert Nurturing

Discussion in 'Citrus' started by Morbius, Aug 4, 2006.

1. Morbius

Morbius Member

Hello to you all.

I must first say what a wonderful forum this is and I've found nothing quite like it in all of my surfing of the Internet.

Ok, I'm a complete beginner here and have last year grown a seed from a bought lemon here in London. It has surprisingly grown a foot in that time and has healthy green leaves on it and has recently developed a couple of thorns too.

Enough about that though, my real query is about a Calamondin that I've just bought.

I've just been down to the local Garden Centre, if you could call it such. Basically, it's just a plant centre that had one solitary citrus plant looking very miserable. Well...you know, it didn't look that miserable, it was just indoors and I imagined that since a batch of them was bought, this has become the only one left. It was reduced from £15 to £9.

I had to have it. It looks like it was probably left indoors the whole time it was there and we're having such a hot and humid summer this year here in the southeast of England that I thought I'd buy it and nurture it because it looked like it needed a good home.

It's about a foot in height and very bushy, it has 4 or 5 ripe fruit plus lots of little green fruit just starting to grow on it. It also has a few white flowers though these are in a bud stage and haven't opened fully yet. It also has alot of newly growing leaves all over and so I'd say that it looks very healthy.

However, it's in a 4 inch diameter plastic pot and it's about 4 inches deep as well. On the pot it says that it's about 3 years old. It has a root system that is partially visible because it's above the soil line. Now, I've heard that this is no bad thing but I really feel that this plant needs a bigger pot.