Blue Spruce Height

Discussion in 'Gymnosperms (incl. Conifers)' started by ck54, Oct 26, 2006.

1. ck54

ck54 Member

Hi newbie here. I'm planting a privacy screen of conifers and am hoping to have my screen made up of Vanderwolf's Pyramids and Blue Spruce. However, the height potential of the Blue Spruces scare me. Ideally, I would like the line to top out at 20ft, but could live with 25ft. Is there any reasonable means of controlling the blue spruces at that height, without the tree morphing into a mess? I'm aware of the Fat Albert variety, but my local nursery does not sell them and looking elsewhere is pretty cost prohibitive for my situation. Any advise would be greatly appreciated.

2. Michael F

Michael F Paragon of Plants Forums Moderator 10 Years

Effectively, no. If you cut the tops off on their reaching that height, they would develop a very unsightly shape, and grow several new leaders which would be weakly attached and liable to breakage in storms or snow.

By the way, 'Vanderwolf's Pyramid' will get just as tall as Blue Spruce (20-25 metres at maturity), so you'll have the same problem with them. If you want a lower screen, try some different species that won't get so tall. Pinus virginiana (Scrub Pine) or Pinus pungens (Table-mountain Pine) would be about right. So would Thuja occidentalis (Arborvitae); they look a bit 'ordinary' as a screen (because everyone has them!), though on the plus side, they are very readily available which the pines are less so.

3. ck54

ck54 Member

Michael,