Beginner Citrus Help

Discussion in 'HortForum' started by Mpk311, Aug 13, 2010.

1. Mpk311

Mpk311 Member

Hey, I recently received a baby lemon tree, and I've yet to plant it. I am not a beginner to planting but certainly a newcomer to trees as well as citrus fruits. I am looking to keep this plant an indoor tree and was wondering if anyone had any tips/links to any previous forum posts that could help me grow this plant into a strong healthy one.

Thanks!

2. Fen Sandar

Fen Sandar Active Member

There are many threads on this subject and in fact, most of the citrus care advice can be applied to your tree with no ill effects.

You are going to want to watch for several main things.

The first is soil type: your lemon needs very well draining nutrient rich soil. Citrus are heavy feeders and while they will still grow with little or no soil nutrients, they do much better if they have what they need to grow well. You want an orchid or citrus mix of soil probably - although I've heard tomato type mixes work well also. If you are on a limited budget, you may want to invest in the generic dry essential minerals feed, some shale gravel (if you can find the fishtank pebble sized stuff), peat moss or CHC and sterilized potting soil (make sure it's sterilized or steralize it yourself in your oven/microwave if it comes in a bag with holes in it). Saltcedar also posted a wonderful link to dry-rooting which may give you some ideas for when your plant outgrows the pot it is in and needs to be either repotted or trimmed (probably repotted). But the most important thing regardless of what you go with is that your soil cannot compact to the point where it does not drain.