balcony garden novice seeks wisdom

Discussion in 'Small Space Gardening' started by maria, Mar 12, 2005.

1. maria

maria Member

I am new to any kind of gardening but have moved into an apartment with two very large (room size) roof top balconies (decks), one facing east and one facing west, and each gets lots of direct sunshine. Both balconies are "enclosed" by not very strong wooden fences, so there's some possibility for trailing vines (but not large hanging baskets).The west one gets some wind, but the east one is quite protected. The west deck is visible all year round from the living room. Watering will be dead easy.

Would someone make some suggestions for getting started? I don't expect to be here for many years, so quick growing and quick producing plants are necessary, as will be frugality ( I am a writer!). I have a few large pots and nothing else. Since my plant taste is not very refined, I tend to like flowering plants and masses of colour.

I also want to treat myself to planting something special for a big fat (3 feet diameter) blue pot. Without much imagination or knowledge, I am thinking roses. Can I have a rose tree and something else underneath the rose tree in the same pot? What roses grow well in pots? However the camelia trees that bloom so early and so long in Vancouver are quite wonderful. Do they do well in pots?

And what about herbs........how would I plan a year-round herb garden?

I am not very handy with tools and must carry everything up 3 stories.

Finally as a novice, I need to have some success in early efforts to keep me going. Can anyone help?

Maria

2. HortLine

HortLine Active Member 10 Years