At last!! A gardening/plant Forum!

Discussion in 'Indoor and Greenhouse Plants' started by WendyI, Jul 31, 2005.

1. WendyI

WendyI Member

I guess I must be internet disabled because I've searching for a forum before and could never find any that were prolific! Then! I search for information on a plant I just bought and well, here you all are!

So...I'm a newbie gardener...that is to say that I've been perennial gardening for about the past 8 years and feel like I'll NEVER remember this stuff! In September it will be two years since we moved into our brand new house and while that may sound wonderful, as a gardening addict, it was rather depressing to leave my old gardens behind and start all over in a brand new subdivision with hard, compacted earth!

My reasons for searching today however, are to locate information on a new houseplant that I have just purchased. Being from Ontario, this plant will not survive outside so I've decided to simply keep it inside, but this is the most extravagent houseplant I have ever purchased and I really need it to live! I mostly kill indoor plants because I can't to the messy kind of watering that I can outside and frankly, I'm lazy! Too many trips to the faucet and I get fed up! LOL!

ANYWAY!!! SO MANY QUESTIONS! The plant I bought is a "standard" Tribouchina (it's been grown in a tall braided fashion) but there was no cultivar name....is that the right term? I mean Tribouchina is the family but the type was not indicated. It has green fury leaves that are somewhat elongated and it has the most beautiful purple flowers I have EVER seen. The stamins are so delicate and feathery looking and I am in love with this plant!

However, I've already read a few things that are leaving me wondering if I can keep this plant alive. So, at last, my questions: