Acer palmatum 'Ueno yama'

Discussion in 'Acer palmatum cultivars (photos)' started by mapledia, Apr 18, 2007.

1. mapledia

mapledia Active Member

This is a light-colored spring addition to the garden which provides a fresh pure yellow color. At least in my garden, it's leaves are identical to Ueno Homare's except that Ueno Yama's are larger at 6 cm. This photo was taken April 15, 2007. Ueno Yama and Ueno Homare are presented best with a background of conifers (redwoods, mugos, etc.) and rhodies. They will certainly brighten up the landscape and I'm surprised I don't see them more often in maple gardens.

Attached Files:

2. krautz33

krautz33 Active Member 10 Years

Great color in spring. Like katsua

Attached Files:

3. winterhaven

winterhaven Active Member Maple Society 10 Years

Ueno yama came up in another thread and when I looked here, I was surprised to see how little has been written about this tree.

So while I'm not an expert, I'll chime in with my observations.

From what I've seen, it lies somewhere between Katsura and Orange Dream. As with Orange Dream, I want it in enough sun that it colors properly after the first flush of orange. In the right location mine holds onto its yellow longer than Katsura and in the summertime is a very limey green. Not as bright as Orange Dream (when in the right spot) but brighter than Katsura.

However, too much sun and the leaves will scorch. I know "too much" is a relative term and frustrating, but with this tree I'd advise fiddling with it. Give it just enough that it almost scorches. Some have mentioned they keep theirs where it scorches in order to get full color and just live with the sun damage. I tried that one year and lost a good portion of the crown. So be mindful when pushing the tree's limits.