a curious capillipes?

Discussion in 'Maples' started by emery, Apr 29, 2008.

1. emery

emery Renowned Contributor Maple Society 10 Years

This year I planted as a FS A. capillipes. I have no experience with this tree, but from the various references I expected it to leaf out red. Instead, it has leafed out a surreal white-pink, with shadings of purple-red. It was difficult to photograph, the colors are not as vibrant as the real thing which lights up the view when you look at it.

I wonder if it is capillipes at all? Any one have any ideas? Those who grow it, is this how it leafs out?

-E

Attached Files:

2. alex66

alex66 Rising Contributor Maple Society 10 Years

snake bark maple, is one my preferite,i have 3 cultivar,your is nice,i not see in my similar coulor leaves,however Capillipes is one "must "in aceretum...

3. emery

What are the 3 cultivars Alex? "Maples of the World" doesn't list any. I knew of one, can't remember what it is, with a Japanese name. Then there's Gimborn, is that capillipes?

But, you agree this is not how standard capillipes (the species) would look?

I'm just surprised to have received a (presumably) rare cultivar as a full standard by accident. Although it is certain that accidents happen.

-E

4. Gomero

Gomero Well-Known Member Maple Society 10 Years

Emery,

This is how my capillipes (species) looks like.

Gomero

Attached Files:

5. emery

Any guesses as to what this might be, Gomero? Do you think it is a capillipes at all? The leaf shape doesn't look the same as yours.

-E

6. Gomero

Gomero Well-Known Member Maple Society 10 Years