Identification: 2 plants need Identifying

Discussion in 'Indoor and Greenhouse Plants' started by Jakk, Aug 3, 2009.

1. Jakk

Jakk Active Member

Hi Folks

I have recently brought a couple of house plants from our local B&Q, they were labeled up as foliage plants but I would like to know what species they are.

I have a book on house plants and after looking through it I think the green plant may be either Cordyline Stricta (Congesta) or Dracaena Deremensis Janet Craig, the edges of the leaves are rough edged.

I think the red plant could be Cordyline Terminalis Rededge, as you can see I am having some problems with this plant with some of the leaf tips turning brown which I think may be caused by the air in my room being too dry, I have started to mist the plant every couple of days.

I am new to house plants so if anybody could shed light on what these plants are and also why my red plant is going brown I would be very greatfull

Many thanks

Attached Files:

2. joclyn

joclyn Rising Contributor

first one, green one, could be a dracaena - janet craig possibly or maybe massangeana. might even be one of the green cordylines.

second one is a cordyline - no idea about variety as there are quite a few (understatement).

dracs like bright indirect lighting, well draining soil and to be allowed to dry out a bit before watering again. does best in unglazed clay with drainage holes.

cordy's like brighter light/full sun (for some), well draining soil that stays a bit moister, so water more frequently than the drac. wouldn't put in unglazed clay...something ceramic (or even plastic) would be okay. definitely needs drainage holes.

3. The Tropix

The Tropix Member

Hi Jakk,