Should I repot a newly bought Skeeter's Broom?

Discussion in 'Maples' started by Maple_fan, Sep 1, 2021.

1. Maple_fan

Maple_fan New Member

Hello Everyone,

I am very new to this forum. I just got as a birthday present a Skeeter's Broom in a 3l container and the maple is about 80cm tall.. I love maples but I am new to gardening them myself. I want to keep the maple in a container since I only have a balcony. My question is : should I repot it now ( even though it does look stressed to me) or should I wait until early spring ( so that the maple has the fall and winter to get accustomed to my balcony)?

Thank you in advance for the help.

2. AlainK

AlainK Renowned Contributor Forums Moderator Maple Society 10 Years

Any photos ?

If you can pull out the tree from the pot and take a photo of the roots, without disturbing them, the people here can help you better.

And "Germany" is big : you should be more precise in your location, I don't think that the winters near the Baltic sea are the same as close to Silesia... For a potted tree, that could be a big difference.

Xi-feng, Otto Bjornson and maf like this.
  3. maf

maf Generous Contributor Maple Society 10 Years

Hi, 3 litres is a little on the small size for an 80cm Japanese maple, so repotting would be a good idea; something like 7-10 litres would be ideal, big enough to make a difference but not overly big (they don't like to be overpotted). In mild, oceanic climates September is an excellent month to repot JM's and I see your location now says Mainz which I think is in this broad category.

At the risk of telling you what you already know, the three most important aspects when repotting a JM are drainage, drainage and drainage! Amend the potting medium with bark chips and/or perlite and/or grit/gravel, make sure the container has plenty of holes and never stand it in a saucer.

Xi-feng and Maple_fan like this.
  4. Maple_fan

Maple_fan New Member