Sakura repotting in winter

Discussion in 'Ornamental Cherries' started by bizia, Dec 14, 2011.

1. bizia

bizia Member

Hi,

I am afraid that I made the mistake of repotting a sakura bonsai tree in December (northern hemisphere), though the temperature is been pretty high (around 15 degrees lately). Is there any chance it will survive? Is there anything I could do to help it recover? Thanks in advance for your help,

Chaya

2. eteinindia

eteinindia Well-Known Member VCBF Cherry Scout 10 Years

Hi, Chaya,
    This is Mariko in Japan. Wendy asked me to write the answer to your question, but I’m not good at growing Bonsai Cherries. I’ll write just what my Japanese book ,“12 Months of Growing Cherries†says.
    "December is a good time to repotting early blooming cherries in Tokyo area. And February is a good time to repotting usual cherries."
    But I checked the Webs (Sorry Google can’t translate nicely) and most of them say November is a good time to repot. I don’t know which is right.

Anyway, winter is the good time for potting, repotting and planting of the potted new cherries.
    (I have to repot my 2 Bonsai cherries this winter! But I’m afraid and I haven’t done it yet.)

3. bizia

bizia Member

Hey Mariko,

your reply is very recomforting...! Thanks. It sounds like my tree will survive the winter. It is though wird that other cherry trees are advised to be repotted in early spring right before the blooming. But mine is Japanese and seems to be close to blossom now... I bought it last year in February and it looked like it looks at the moment, so I do not know if the weather here in Spain has made it that way or if it will be looking like it does until February...

Anyway, do you know if the sakura trees, if fertilized by bees etc., could grow cherry fruits?

Best wishes,
    Chaya

4. eteinindia

eteinindia Well-Known Member VCBF Cherry Scout 10 Years

Hello, Chaya,
    I’m sorry I couldn’t write back to you soon.