Help w/ Thuja Occidentalis 'Smaragd' (aka Emerald Green Cedars)

Discussion in 'Gymnosperms (incl. Conifers)' started by ChrisC, Dec 26, 2020.

1. ChrisC

ChrisC New Member

Hello and happy holidays! I'm looking for a bit of help with a recently planted (three - four days ago) hedge row of 15 emerald cedar trees. I gather this is probably a common topic but I'm new to this and am looking for a bit of advice! Shortly after planting these trees, the tips of the needles have started to yellow - primarily on the very tops of the trees foliage but some down the body of the tree too. The interior and base of the tree has remained green. Is this normal behavior resulting from transplant shock? Should we be concerned? Anything we should be doing in the short term to help them along? We are worried because they were very green in their pots and only after planting have they changed colour.

A bit of background:
    -This bed used to have a large (15+ ft) Western Red Cedar hedge that had been over-trimmed on one side and lost all of it's green needles. The hedge was removed and the stumped grinded down ~8 - 12" as we wanted to replace with something a bit smaller that we could be maintained <12 ft high.
    -We replanted with emerald cedars spaced 2 - 2.5 ft apart
    -Due to some of the pre-existing stumps and roots, we probably didn't dig the holes as big as we should have. The holes were probably 1.5x the diameter of the 10 gallon pots that the cedars came in and about the same depth as the pots. The instructions we received from the nursery was that the root ball should sit approximately 1" above surrounding soil once planted.
    -During planting, we added a bit of peat moss to the base of the holes and filled the annulus space around the trees with a loose mix of peat/ native soil mix. We added a handful of bone meal around the surrounding soil and then watered with a bit of root booster, as recommended by the nursery.