Edible Blue Honeysuckle

Discussion in 'Fruit and Vegetable Gardening' started by cmmwiebe, May 2, 2007.

1. cmmwiebe

cmmwiebe Active Member

I am a retired grain Research Tech who has turned his hand to fruit plants, namely the Edible Blue Honeysuckle. I am looking for seed rather than plants, however I would be interested if you have a selection which has good fruit and hardy plant growth.

Clayton

2. vancanjay

vancanjay Member

I realize this is not what you are looking for but I just saw honeysuckle in the t&t seeds catalogue. I doubt they would have seeds however.

3. cmmwiebe

cmmwiebe Active Member

Actually I have one of their plants on order but I am suspecting this will not be a great berry size or flavour. Thanks though.

Clayton

4. vancanjay

vancanjay Member

If possible, please post or email when you receive it - I was about to order one myself...

thanks

5. cmmwiebe

cmmwiebe Active Member

Finally got back to this post. The stick that came from T&T was very well rooted and had 2 very nice green shoots. I planted in a pot and watered it in my basement under lights. It lasted about 10 days and then began to droop and finally died. I contacted them and they sent a second one with one shoot. This time I did the same only soaked the roots for a while before potting up. I also took a tip cutting from the shoot! The plant did the same thing. Seemed good for a few days and then died. My little tip cutting took root and is still growing in my basement. I am trying to start another couple of cuttings to ensure I get one good plant. I have had great success with tip cuttings on seedlings I am starting, especially when they are at about the 4 to 5 leaf stage in growth. So maybe their next years crop will be good. I will call them to complain again but I am sure there will not be anything available to replace the original.