Control of Knotweed

Discussion in 'Garden Pest Management and Identification' started by Daniel Mosquin, Sep 6, 2006.

1. Daniel Mosquin

Daniel Mosquin Paragon of Plants UBC Botanical Garden Forums Administrator Forums Moderator 10 Years

2. J.Onstott

J.Onstott Active Member

That was an interesting article, I was an intern last summer for a knotweed control project in Lincoln County Oregon. What a mess... the last two river miles of the Yachats
    were inundated (walls) by Japanese knotweed. I felt strange applying herbicide but at the same time, I don't want to see our watersheds any more degraded.

3. jimweed

jimweed Active Member 10 Years

Wow, that sure was a lot of work just to kill Knotweed. Glyphosate will knock back this weed somewhat, but is not the most effective chemical in the long run. It is most effective when applied in the fall. Although I do understand the sensitivity of the area being treated.

Commercially sold Glyphosate comes with an AI of 365gms/L. And should never be mixed more than 2% for optimum control of foliar applications. The 5 and 8% mixtures they used may just burnt the foliage and didn't translocate properly, could be why they needed so many re-applications.

They also mention the use of Garlon4, (Glyphosate) in BC I believe it is only registered for use for BC Hydro, which I have used while working for them. And is not to be used near water ways.

21 years in the vegetation control business, I have dealt with a lot of Knotweed. For permanent control mixing Grazon with Amitrol-T is the key. Do not try this at home.
    Jim.

4. J.Onstott

J.Onstott Active Member