Changing my backyard of gravel to lawn

Discussion in 'HortForum' started by handsomeBwonderful, Apr 21, 2008.

1. handsomeBwonderful

handsomeBwonderful Member

Hello,

I'm in Toronto, Ontario. I am a new home owner and looking for some advice.

My backyard is currently gravel but I would like to change it to a lawn.

Right now there about an inch worth of gravel, covered with a thin carpet of leafs left over from last fall. As well as weeds, weeds, weeds. (A few weeds)

I was wondering as to the best plan of attack for this transformation. Some questions I have:

Do I need to remove the stones, or perhaps till the ground?

Should I just cover everything with topsoil, (or something else maybe)?

Do I need to remove the leaves or is it best to leave them?

I am eager to get started but want to do it right, right from the start.

I appreciate any advice as I am a novice to gardening/landscaping.

Thank you in advance!

Shawn

2. lorax

lorax Rising Contributor 10 Years

I'd remove the stones and then just rake the soil to loosen it a bit. If you want to add topsoil, go right ahead, but it's not strictly necessary. Leaves will provide a nice mulch for the new sods, but you might find it hard to take up the gravel without removing them as well....

3. Liz

Liz Well-Known Member 10 Years

Are you seeding the soil or buying the mats they seem to use here to make instant lawn? If seeding, needs a bit of work to get it cleaned up. Not sure if the instant turf is laid by the provider.

Liz

4. lorax

lorax Rising Contributor 10 Years

It can go both ways in Canada. I'd say the best is to let the pros do it, because they have the big sod-rolling wheely-pressy-thingies, and I don't.

5. joclyn

joclyn Rising Contributor

you'll need to remove the gravel. well, the majority of it anyway. a little bit, here and there, turned over into the soil won't matter.