Identification: Amanita frostiana.... Or??

Discussion in 'Fungi, Lichens and Slime Molds' started by Somniferous, Sep 8, 2009.

1. Somniferous

Somniferous Member

Hello everyone,

I have been silently lurking for awhile, awaiting the opportunity to find something worth ID'ing on these forums and I recently found just the fungi. I'm a bit of a dilettante when it comes to mycology, but I have a rabid sense of curiosity and I love the outdoors, so I expect to post semi frequently. This picture was taken on a ridge line near birch, alder, and cottonwood and was overlooking a very deep and marshy valley. Blue-bead lilies, bunchberry, wild climatis, columbine and a host of other flora grow everywhere here. To give you a geographical bearing, I took the picture near Postill Lake, a 40 minute drive from downtown Kelowna B.C. Sorry I didn't get a picture of the gills - I understand that's relatively important and my apologies if the picture isn't up to snuff, as I am no professional photographer. Look forward to participating in these fine forums.

First crack at attaching an img.. Cross your fingers! :P

Sept'09 055.jpg

2. Frog

Frog Generous Contributor Forums Moderator 10 Years

Welcome Somniferous!

Things that look like this in B.C. (at least coastal B.C.) are usually either Amanita muscaria (typically yellow form in conifer association, red form in hardwood association), or Amanita aprica or Amanita gemmata.

I forget which of the latter two is generally a spring mushroom, but aprica tends towards a much denser congregation of "warts" on the cap than A. muscaria.

I've never seen A.frostiana - does it grow in B.C.?

So.... pending any new info I'm going to put my five cents on A.muscaria.

cheers!
    frog

3. fish dr

fish dr Active Member

I concur with muscaria.

Aprica looks different and is usually in the spring.

Gemmata and Frostiana I don't know but I've seen lots of muscaria that looked like yours.